IHE Honorary Fellowships

The IHE has awarded prestigious 50th anniversary Honorary Fellowships to individuals who have made significant contributions to the UK’s highways and transport industry.

IHE President John Nightingale said: “We’re delighted to announce the newest recipients of IHE‘s Honorary Fellowships in this celebration year for the Institute. All of IHE’s Honorary Fellows have made significant personal and professional contributions to the highways industry and are very worthwhile recipients of this honour.”

The 2015 fellows are:

Ginny Clarke – Strategy and planning director for the newly formed Highways England a role in which she is chief highway engineer.

John Dales – Funding director of Urban Movement, a company specialising in project design, research and planning in the urban environment.

Wayne Duerden – Head of traffic engineering policy at the Department for Transport and leads a team who develop policy, regulatory frameworks and technical advice.

Peter Jones – Professor of transport and sustainable development at University College London.

Tony Sharp – Senior engineer at South Gloucestershire Council, he specialises in traffic signals.

Steve Spender – Head of highways (North and East) at Hampshire County Council. He was president of the IHE from 2010 to 2012.

Professor Margaret Bell – On the staff at Newcastle University’s Faculty of Engineering and Geosciences. Her research interests include traffic and environment monitoring, modelling management and control.

Graham Hanson – Head of traffic signs policy at DfT and instrumental in managing revisions to the updated Traffic Signs Regulations and General Directions (TSRGD).

Contact us