IHE History

The Institute of Highway Engineers (IHE) was established in 1965 and celebrated fifty years of service to highways, traffic and transportation professionals in 2015.

We’ve been registering engineers and technicians with the Engineering Council since 1972 and accrediting academic courses since 1989.

We’re proud of our long history and providing our members with 40 plus years of highways experience.


The Association of Highway Technicians (AHT) is established by its first chairman and founder H.S. (Bill) Taylor under the trusteeship of the Institution of Highway Engineers (now called the CIHT).

The first board of trustees was led by Bill Taylor, Professor Fisher Cassie, Henry Criswell, and Tom Sinclair. In its early years, the AHT established and evolved new grades. Technician Engineer and Engineering Technician were created in the late 1960s at a time when entry to Chartered Engineer was restricted to graduates.


The AHT becomes a completely independent body called the Highway and Traffic Technicians Association (HTTA) under Bill Taylor’s leadership with the ability to add members to the national register.

HTTA’s Brian Lacey chairs the Engineering Board of Engineers‘ Registration Board and the first  conference on microprocessors and traffic signalling is held.


The HTTA is renamed the Institute for Highway Incorporated Engineers (IHIE) and is licensed by the Engineering Council to accredit university and college courses. The IHIE delivers the first joint accreditation panel , chaired by IHIE members which was later absorbed into the Joint Board of Moderators. The IHIE becomes one of the first institutions to engage in ‘CISC' developing NVQs.


The Institute’s first Traffic Signal Control conference is held, and continues to be held annually at Nottingham University. IHIE establishes the annual Traffic Signs forum and helps launch Traffic Sign Regulations (TSRGD).


IHIE launches the revised TSRGD and the traffic signs forum is inaugurated, becoming an annual event.


IHIE sits on the CISC Board, and develops higher level occupational standards and NVQs/SVQs for construction with transportation qualifications among the first to be designed.


The IHIE is one of ten institutions to create the Joint Accreditation Panel for IEng and technician courses.


IHIE President Peter Dipper serves on the Senate of the Engineering Council.


IHIE joins the  BTEC/Edexcel working party to revise Higher National and National Awards.


IHIE‘s Peter Dipper continues as the only IEng among the institution appointed members of Engineering Council Board.


 IHIE produces its first publication - IHE Home Zones Design Guidelines.


IHIE joins the Joint Board of Moderators. IHE’s Peter Dipper chairs the UK SPEC Engineering Technician committee setting down registration standards for EngTech.


IHIE Professional Route to CSCS Card opened.


IHIE Guidelines for Motorcycling are launched and win the Prince Michael International Road Safety Award. The IHIE celebrates forty years of service to highways professionals.


IHIE Employer of the Year Award initiated. Simon Bennett was elected to the Engineering Council by the nine 'Group B' medium sized institutions.


The Institute is renamed the Institute of Highway Engineers (IHE) with a launch at Westminster Abbey and it retains this name today. The IHE establishes and opens the Register of Road Safety Auditors.


The IHE celebrated 50 years of serving professionals working in the highways sector in 2015. As part of its 50th anniversary celebrations, it awarded IHE Honorary Fellowships, recognised key members with Awards of Merit, and supported nominated charities. The year’s highlight was a celebratory event held at the Houses of Parliament.

Contact us